New: Your feedback can help make our next website better!

CSBM Outstanding Black Male Leaders of Tomorrow Awards

2017 Outstanding Black Male Leaders of Tomorrow Recipients

Caleb Poer 2 Caleb Poer

The 2017 Outstanding Black Male Leader of Tomorrow High School Award recipient is Caleb Poer. This junior at Bloomington High School North (BHSN) service to the community is recognizable both inside and outside of the classroom. Caleb is an honor student, varsity athlete, accomplished visual and performing artist. He is a mentor with the BHSN Cougar Leader Program, former student body president, and current student representative in BHSN student council. Poer was instrumental with the student council Adopt-a-Family project, Project Middle Way, organized a student-led protest at the Monroe County Community School Corporation Administration building that resulted in the administration issuing a ban of the confederate flag being worn at BHSN. Caleb contributes his success to the love and support of his family members and friends and his community.

Brian Richardson CSBM Brian A. Richardson Jr. The 2017 Outstanding Black Male Leader of Tomorrow Adult recipient is Brian A. Richardson Jr. Brian Richardson Jr. challenges others to achieve greatness, on the campus at Indiana University (IU), and in the community. As the Assistant Director of Student Diversity and Inclusion for the IU School of Public Health, he is passionately devoted to the professional development of students. Off campus, he serves as a youth mentor and an advocate for the Krimson Leadership Academy (KLA), a mentoring program that he developed for young males at Fairview Elementary School. Richardson believes that the impact of good mentor is something that should never be underestimated. This husband, recent father of a baby girl, and proud member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. remains on a mission to help others not only become leaders in in their communities but, to become leaders in the process for change and cultural understanding.

The CSBM is no longer accepting nominations for the 2017 Outstanding Black Male Leaders of Tomorrow. Check back with us in January 2018.