The University Courts Historic District is made up of four additions to the City of Bloomington, which were platted between 1911 and 1913. The land belonged to attorney and farmer Moses Dunn, whose farmhouse stood just east of the present neighborhood on the site of the Indiana University HPER building.

University_Courts

The comfortable, gracious homes in "The Courts" were built by developers, limestone men, and others whose fortunes were made in business and industry, and by distinguished members of Indiana University's academic community. The houses were constructed predominantly out of brick and limestone in the popular period revival styles of the day. Georgian, Spanish Colonial and Mission dominated in the 1920s and Colonial Revival in the 1930s.

The influence of the Craftsman movement is also evident throughout the district. The builders spared no expense in construction, selecting the very best materials and including every ""modern convenience." Slate and tile roofs were common. Several of the homes were designed by noted Bloomington architect John Nichols.

In University Courts, a church and Greek houses were interspersed harmoniously with single family residences, duplexes and small apartment buildings. All were built at a comfortable residential scale. The wealth of architectural styles, rich variety of building materials, brick and limestone retaining walls, and Bloomington's only remaining brick streets create a charming and unique environment, a synthesis of "town and gown."

"The Courts" became the residence of many people prominent in the city during the early to mid-twentieth century: Indiana University Dean of women Agnes Wells; William Rawles, Dean of the School of Commerce and Finance; Indiana University Athletic Director Z.G. Clevenger; Joseph and Agnes Nurre, of the Nurre Mirror Plate Company. The University Courts Historic District was nominated for listing in the National Register of Historic Places in June of 1992.