New: Your feedback can help make our next website better!

Local students receive President’s Volunteer Service Award

Presidential Service Award emblem

Dec. 28, 2012

For more information, please contact:
Bet Savich, Bloomington Volunteer Network Coordinator, City of Bloomington Department of Community and Family Resources, 349.3472,

Local students receive President's Volunteer Service Award

Bloomington, Ind. -
The City of Bloomington Volunteer Network announced today that 39 local students received the 2012 President's Volunteer Service Award. The students received a congratulatory certificate and lapel pin from President Barack Obama as well as a City of Bloomington pin from Mayor Mark Kruzan.

"It's very encouraging to have these socially aware, action-oriented young people in our community," Kruzan said. "By contributing their time and their voices, they are working to help make Bloomington the best it can be."

The President's Volunteer Service Award rewards and encourages young people who contribute to meeting the needs of their community through volunteerism. The Bronze Award recognizes 5- to 14-year-olds who contribute 50 hours of service or 15- to 18-year-olds who contribute 100 hours of service in the same period. The Silver Award recognizes 5- to 14-year-olds who complete 75 hours of service or 15- to 18-year-olds who complete 175 hours of service. The Gold Award goes to 5- to 14-year-olds who complete 100 hours of service or 15- to 18-year-olds who complete 250 hours of service.

The 2012 recipients are: Christopher Alexeev, Abdulaziz Alimov, Lexi Alwine, Adam Baker, Sam Buehler, Yeeseon Chae, Taylor Chism, Cole Chudy, Drew Couper, Erin Cutts, Toni Deckard, Grace Handlos, Jerome Seung-eui Hong, Hailea Howard, Christian Kammel, Sarah Kim, DohHyun Kim, Esther Lee, Yehuie Lee, Kessler McGarry, Lauren Means, Olivia Milam, Allison Miller, Emily Moon, Lois Moon, Alan Nguyen, Grace Oeding, Audrey Post, Kayla Post, Cierra Ramusack, Katie Rivera, Luis Rovira, Brandon Smale, Robert Smart, Shyam Subramanian, Molly Swindle, Melanie Wallskog, Jonathon Wood and Chuyue Zhou.

Those interested in learning more about the President's Volunteer Service Awards are encouraged to contact Bet Savich, City of Bloomington Volunteer Network coordinator, at or at 349.3472. Additional information is available on the Volunteer Network's website at or online at