New: Your feedback can help make our next website better!

City King Commission Seeks Nominees for Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award for 2013

MLK Live the Legacy Banner


Nov. 13, 2013

For more information, please contact:

Craig Brenner, Special Projects Coordinator, City of Bloomington Community and Family Resources Department, 349.3471,

Mary Tourner, Chair, City of Bloomington Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission, 327.7374

City King Commission seeks nominees for Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award

Bloomington, Ind. - The City of Bloomington's Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Celebration Commission is soliciting nominees for the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award. The award recognizes and affirms those who have made significant contributions in the areas of race relations, justice and human rights and is presented annually at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Celebration in January.

Nominees must have been Monroe County residents, businesses or advocacy groups for at least one year and must have been involved in making tangible and meaningful contributions to the improvement of community conditions and the advancement of race relations, racial justice or human rights causes.

Past winners of the Legacy Award include Bloomington United, the Monroe County Branch of the NAACP, Guy and Connie Loftman, the Rev. E. D. Butler, the Rev. Michael Anderson, the Monroe County Racial Justice Task Force, the Banneker History Project, Dr. James E. Mumford, Dr. Charlie Nelms, Kenneth W. Thomas, WFHB Community Radio, Elizabeth Mitchell, Daniel Soto Mayorga, John Whikehart, and the Indiana University Office of Diversity Education.

Nominations may be made online here. The deadline for nominations is Jan. 10, 2014. For more information contact Special Projects Coordinator Craig Brenner at or 349.3471.