New: Your feedback can help make our next website better!

Bloomington Common Council

Council Members 2017

Front row, l-r: Dorothy Granger (District II and Vice-President), Susan Sandberg (At-Large and President), and Tim Mayer (At-Large and Parliamentarian); Middle Row, l-r: Chris Sturbaum (District I), Andy Ruff (At-Large), Allison Chopra (District III), Steve Volan (District VI), Isabel Piedmont-Smith (District V), and Dave Rollo (District IV).

As the legislative body of the City, the City Council is a link between the citizens of Bloomington and their government. By enacting legislation that fosters the health, safety and welfare of the City, the Council works to represent the interests of residents while ensuring the delivery of municipal services. By statute, the Council is responsible for the control of the City's property and finances, and the appropriation of money (Indiana Code § 36‐4‐6‐1‐18).

Contact Us! We value your feedback.

Council Representatives

Council Meetings

Meetings are generally held the first four Wednesdays of the month at 6:30 p.m. in Council Chambers, City Hall, 401 N. Morton. All meetings of the Council are open to the public.

Public Comment: The Council values the voices of citizens and welcomes public comment at its meetings.View Rules for Making Public Comment.

*Auxiliary aids (including assisted listening devices) for people with disabilities are available upon request with adequate notice. Please call (812) 349-3409 or e-mail


Browse City Council Legislative Packets, Agendas & Minutes