New: Your feedback can help make our next website better!

The Common Council is composed of nine members who are elected to serve four-year terms. The current term runs 01 January 2016 through 31 December 2019. Six members of the Council represent individual districts, while three represent the City at-large. Each year, the Council elects a Council President, a Vice President and a Parliamentarian.

Council Meetings:
As the legislative body of the City, the Council is responsible for passing ordinances, resolutions, orders, and motions for governance of the City, the control of the City's property and finances, and the appropriation of money.

All meetings of the Council are open to the public to attend, record and observe. The Council generally meets the the first four Wednesdays of the month at 6:30 pm in the Council Chambers of City Hall, 401 North Morton Street. The general public is welcome to attend the meetings and offer comment on these actions.

Policy Development
The Council works with the City administration as well as other governmental entities and community organizations to develop worthwhile policies. The Council also appoints its own members and members of the public to serve on various boards and commissions.

Constituent Services:
As elected representatives of the City's citizens, the members of the Council welcome citizen questions, concerns and comments. Contact us!