RESOLUTION 16-15

WAIVING CURRENT PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES BY THE BLOOMINGTON HOUSING AUTHORITY TO THE CITY

WHEREAS, the Bloomington Housing Authority provides a public service to the Bloomington community by providing sanitary, safe and affordable housing for low income people; and

WHEREAS, according to I.C. 36-7-18-25, the Bloomington Housing Authority is exempt from all property taxes, but may enter into an agreement with a political subdivision to pay no more than the estimated costs of services, improvements, or facilities provided by that political subdivision; and

on May 2, 1961, the Bloomington Housing Authority and City of Bloomington WHEREAS, entered into a Cooperation Agreement under which the Bloomington Housing Authority agreed to make annual payments in lieu of taxation based upon the value of services established by Housing and Urban Development guidelines; and

WHEREAS. the City of Bloomington does not desire for the Bloomington Housing Authority to make these payments in lieu of taxes this year;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED BY THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF BLOOMINGTON, MONROE COUNTY, INDIANA, THAT:

SECTION 1. In consideration for the provision of services to its residents and property by the Bloomington Housing Authority, the City of Bloomington hereby waives its right to any and all payments in lieu of taxes for the year 2015.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Common Council of the City of Bloomington, Monroe County, Indiana, upon this (9) day of Q_{tobor} , 2016.

ANDY RUFF, President

Bloomington Common Council

ATTEST:

NICOLE BOLDEN, Clerk City of Bloomington

PRESENTED by me to the Mayor of the City of Bloomington, Monroe County, Indiana, upon this day of 🤇 ictober, 2016.

NÍCOLE BOLDEN, Clerk City of Bloomington

SIGNED and APPROVED by me upon this 24^{4} day of 044. 2016.

JOHN HAMILTON, Mayor City of Bloomington

SYNOPSIS

This resolution waives the right of the City of Bloomington to receive payments in lieu of taxes from the Bloomington Housing Authority for the year 2015.

Distributed to: Office of the City Clerk, Council Administrator, Legal Department, Office of the Mayor, and HAND.