ORDINANCE 90-44

TO ESTABLISH COMMON COUNCIL DISTRICT BOUNDARIES FOR THE CITY OF BLOOMINGTON

- WHEREAS, Indiana Code 36-4-6-3 provides that the Common Council must divide the City into six (6) Common Council districts; and
- WHEREAS, current Council district definitions are based on precinct boundaries and definitions approved on February 2, 1983; and
- WHEREAS, the precinct boundaries and definitions within the City of Bloomington were redefined in 1988 and 1990 by the Monroe County Board of Commissioners in order to comply with I.C. 3-11-1.5-3 which states that precincts contain no more than 800 registered voters; and
- WHEREAS, the addition and modification of precincts in 1988 and 1990 do not require a complete redistricting at this time, however I.C. 36-4-6-3(g) requires that complete redistricting occur in 1992; and
- WHEREAS, the new and modified precinct definitions need to be incorporated into the respective Common Council districts for the 1991 City election;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT HEREBY ORDAINED BY THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF BLOOMINGTON, MONROE COUNTY, INDIANA, THAT:

SECTION I. The title of Chapter 2.04 of the Bloomington Municipal Code shall be amended to add the following:

- VI. COUNCIL DISTRICTS
- 2.04.500 Definition of Council districts
- 2.04.510 Repeal of former Council districts
- SECTION II. <u>Section 2.04.500 Definition of Council districts</u> shall be added to read as follows:
- 2.04.500 Definition of Council districts. The City of Bloomington is hereby divided into six (6) Council districts which shall be known as the First District, Second District, Third District, Fourth District, Fifth District, and Sixth District, which districts are hereby established as follows:

FIRST DISTRICT: The First Council District shall consist of the following designated precincts as established by Monroe County Board of Commissioners Ordinance 90-2:

- (a) Bloomington Township Precincts 2, 3, 16, 17 and 23
- (b) Perry Township Precinct 1
- (c) Van Buren Township Precincts 2 and 7
- (d) All that part of the City lying in Richland Township.

SECOND DISTRICT: The Second Council District shall consist of the following designated precincts as established by Monroe County Board of Commissioners Ordinance 90-2:

Bloomington Township Precincts 4, 5, 13, 18, 24, 25, 26 and 30

THIRD DISTRICT: The Third Council District shall consist of the following designated precincts as established by Monroe County Board of Commissioners Ordinance 90-2:

- (a) Bloomington Township Precincts 6, 11, 14, 19, 27, 28 and 29
- (b) Perry Township Precinct 11

FOURTH DISTRICT: The Fourth Council District shall consist of the following designated precincts as established by Monroe County Board of Commissioners Ordinance 90-2:

- (a) Bloomington Township Precincts 12, 15 and 31
- (b) Perry Township Precincts 13, 16, 23 and 25

FIFTH DISTRICT: The Fifth Council District shall consist of the following designated precincts as established by Monroe County Board of Commissioners Ordinance 90-2:

Perry Township Precincts 3, 5, 6, 12, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22 and 26

SIXTH DISTRICT: The Sixth Council District shall consist of the following designated precincts as established by Monroe County Board of Commissioners Ordinance 90-2:

- (a) Bloomington Township Precincts 1, 9 and 10 (b) Perry Township Precincts 2, 4, 14, 24 and 28

SECTION III. Section 2.04.510 Repeal of former Council districts shall be added to read as follows:

2.04.510 Repeal of former Council district. The district boundaries established under Section 2.04.500 of this code section replace and supercede Council boundaries established by all previous ordinances.

Severability. If any section, sentence, or provision of this ordinance, or the application thereof to any person or circumstances shall be declared invalid, such invalidity shall not affect any of the other sections, sentences, provisions, or applications of this ordinance which can be given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this ordinance are declared to be severable.

This Ordinance shall be in full force and effect from and after its passage by the Common Council of the City of Bloomington and approval of the Mayor.

PASSED and ADOPTED by the Common Council of the City of Bloomington, Monroe County, Indiana, upon this the day of November, 1990.

> IRIS KIESLING, President Bloomington Common Council

ATTEST:

Williams Mua PATRICIA WILLIAMS, Clerk City of Bloomington

PRESENTED by me to the Mayor of the City of Bloomington, Monroe County, Indiana, upon this go day of November, 1990.

Willians 1 atreira PATRICIA WILLIAMS, Clerk City of Bloomington

SIGNED and APPROVED by me upon this 874 day of November, 1990.

tornelea all TOMILEA ALLISON, Mayor

City of Bloomington

SYNOPSIS

This Ordinance establishes the precincts contained within each Council district. In 1988 and 1990, new precincts were added and former precincts were redefined; this ordinance assigns these precincts to the proper Council districts in preparation for the 1991 City election. complete redistricting will occur in 1992.

SIGNED COMES TO par 10 TELLAMS CONSUMS CHES CAME STEEL MOGAL JWW FIELDER