ORDINANCE 84-61

An Ordinance Establishing Councilmanic Districts for the City of Bloomington

WHEREAS, Indiana Code 36-4-6-3 requires that the legislative body of a Second Class City divide the City into six (6) districts that are composed of contiguous territory, are reasonably compact, and contain, as nearly as possible, equal population, and

WHEREAS, Between every six and tenth year following the last division, a division shall be made, and Councilmanic Districts were last established by Ordinance on December 19th, 1974:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY ORDAINED BY THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF BLOOMINGTON, MONROE COUNTY, INDIANA, THAT:

Section I. The City of Bloomington is hereby divided into six (6) councilmanic districts which shall be known as the First District, Second District, Third District, Fourth District, Fifth District and Sixth Dixtstrict, which districts are established and described as follows:

FIRST DISTRICT. The First Councilmanic District shall consist of the following designated precincts as they are established by Monroe County Ordinance 81-7, as adopted on November 9, 1981:

- (a) Bloomington Township Precincts 2, 3, and 17;
- Perry Township Precinct 1; (b)
- (C) Van Buren Township Precinct 2;
- (d) All that part of the City lying in Van Buren and Richland Townships.

SECOND DISTRICT. The Second Councilmanic District shall consist of the following designated precincts as they are established by Monroe County Ordinance 81-7, as adopted on November 9, 1981:

(a) Bloomington Township Precincts 4, 5, 13 and 18;

THIRD DISTRICT. The Third Councilmanic District shall consist of the following designated precincts as they are established by Monroe County Ordinance 81-7, as adopted on November 9, 1981:

- (a) Bloomington Township Precincts 6, 11, 14 and 19;
- (b) Perry Township Precinct 11

FOURTH DISTRICT. The Fourth Councilmanic District shall consist of the following designated precincts as they are established by Monroe County Ordinance 81-7, as adopted on November 9, 1981:

- Bloomington Township Precincts 12 and 15;
- (b) Perry Township Precincts 13 and 16.

FIFTH DISTRICT. The Fifth Councilmanic District shall consist of the following designated precincts as they are established by Monroe County Ordinance 81-7, as adopted on November 9, 1981:

(a) Perry Township Precincts 3, 5, 6, 12 and 17.

SIXTH DISTRICT. The Sixth Councilmanic District shall consist of the following designated precincts as they are established by Monroe County Ordinance 81-7, as adopted on November 9, 1981:

- (a) Bloomington Township Precincts 1 and 9;(b) Perry Township Precincts 2, 4 and 14.

SECTION II. This Ordinance shall be in full force and effect from and after passage by the Common Council and approval by the Mayor.

PASSED and ADOPTED by the Common Council of the City of Bloomington, Monroe County, Indiana, upon this 28 day of November, 1984.

PATRICIA GROSS/ President Bloomington common Council

Patrick J. Murphy, President ProTem

ATTEST:

Presented by me to the Mayor of the City of Bloomington, Monroe County, Indiana, upon this Kg day of November , 1984.

Jonilea allesen TOMILEA ALLISON, Mayor City of Bloomington

SYNOPSIS

This Ordinance establishes Councilmanic Districts for the City of Bloomington as required by State law; the districts remain the same as they were at the time of the 1983 Civil City elections.

1. Jegal 2. Mayor 3. Pat Welliams - Domo Chairs 4. Lleve Hogan - copul. Chair Comment yet)