WHEREAS the Bloomington High School South Panthers gained statewide distinction for themselves and for the City of Bloomington by excellence in athletic competition--

> by winning the 1973 Indiana High School Athletic Association wrestling championship under Coach Kay Hutsell, with individual championship won by Doug Hutsell, and

by placing fifth in the Indiana High School Athletic Association swimming meet under Coach Ed Tally, with two individual championships won by Mike Kearney; and

WHEREAS Bloomington High School South has gained nationwide distinction for itself and the City of Bloomington by excellence in academic competition by producing 5 national merit scholars: Clark Carol, Robert Hoff, Daniel Jackson, Arthur Sturbaum, Bruce Toby; and

WHEREAS the Bloomington High School North Cougars have gained statewide distinction for themselves and the City of Bloomington by excellence in athletic competition--

> by Dan Wiley's winning an individual championship under Coach Bo Henry in the 1973 Indiana High School Athletic Association wrestling tournament; and

WHEREAS Bloomington High School North has gained nationwide distinction for itself and the City of Bloomington by excellence in academic competition by producing two national merit scholars: Curtis Ridge, Jennifer Westfall; and

WHEREAS Monroe County Community Schools Corporation Athletic Director Lavern Burns has gained distinction by receiving the Indiana High School Athletic Directors Association Award of Athletic Director of the Year; and

WHEREAS Indiana University has gained nationwide distinction for itself and the City of Bloomington for excellence in athletic competitions--

> by winning the Big Ten Cross Country Championship under Coach Sam Bell, and

by winning the Big Ten Indoor Track Championship under Coach Sam Bell, and

by winning the Big Ten and National Collegiate Athletic Association Swimming Championship under Coach James "Doc" Counsilman and individual NCAA championships won by Fred Tyler, Gary Connelly, and two individual NCAA championships won by Gary Hall and Mike Stamm and three individual NCAA championships won by John Kinsella, and

by winning third place in the NCAA basketball final championship tournament, and

by the Women's Basketball Team, under Coach Bea Gorton, placing fourth in the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women National Competition; and WHEREAS the student body and faculty of Indiana University have gained nationwide distinction for themselves and the City of Bloomington for academic excellence--

by Nelda Nelson's winning fourth place in the Metropolitan Opera National Auditions, and

by David Snodgrass placing second in the National Collegiate Photo Journalism Competition, and

by the award by the French Government of a medal to Professor Najam for his contributions to the advancement of French Culture in this country,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Bloomington that the week of April 8-14 be proclaimed "Pride in Our Community Week" for the City of Bloomington, with the hope that such spirit of pride will continue to be nourished and sustained throughout the coming year.

Mayor McCloskey,

21112 <u>Kerman</u> Councilman Ackerman, ames

Behen. Councilman

Hubert Davis, Councilman

Wayne ilman

Sherwin Mizell, Coundilman

April 5, 1973 adopted:

Charlotte T. Zietlow Council President

Councilman

Alfred Towell, Councilman