MEMORANDUM Bloomington Common Council-Organizational Meeting Bloomington City Hall, 401 N. Morton Street, Bloomington, Indiana

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

Meeting called to order: 6:31pm Council President Susan Sandberg presided.

ROLL CALL

Councilmembers present: Matt Flaherty, Isabel Piedmont-Smith, Dave Rollo, Kate Rosenbarger, Susan Sandberg, Sue Sgambelluri, Jim Sims, Ron Smith, Stephen Volan Councilmembers present via Zoom: none Councilmembers absent: none City staff, officials, and guests present: Ash Kulak, Stephen Lucas, Deputy Mayor Mary Catherine Carmichael, John Zody, Lee Jones, Julie Thomas, City Clerk Nicole Bolden

AGENDA SUMMATION

Council Present Susan Sandberg summarized the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

There were no minutes for approval.

REPORTS

Introduction of Deputy Mayor Mary Catherine Carmichael

John Zody, Director of Housing and Neighborhood Development, gave a report on Public Input on use of HOME/ARPA Funding.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

MOTION: Rollo moved and it was seconded that Sue Sgambelluri be elected as President. ACTION: The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 8, Nays: 1 (Volan), Abstain: 0.

MOTION: Rollo moved and it was seconded that Isabel Piedmont-Smith be elected as Vice President. ACTION: The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

MOTION: Sandberg moved and it was seconded that Dave Rollo be elected as Parliamentarian. ACTION: The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 7, Nays: 1 (Volan), Abstain: 1 (Rollo).

Incoming Council President Sue Sgambelluri presided over the remainder of the meeting.

ASSIGNMENTS TO COUNCIL COMMITTEES:

ACTION: Sgambelluri established the Special Committee on Council Processes. Sgambelluri appointed the following councilmembers to the Special Committee: *Flaherty (chair), Piedmont-Smith, Rollo, Sgambelluri*

ACTION: Sgambelluri appointed the following councilmembers to the Climate Action & Resilience Committee: *Flaherty, Piedmont-Smith, Rollo (chair), Smith*

ACTION: Sgambelluri appointed the following councilmembers to the Jack Hopkins Social Services Funding Committee: *Sandberg (chair), Sims, Rosenbarger, Smith*

ACTION: Sgambelluri appointed the following councilmembers to the Council Sidewalk Committee: *Sandberg, Sims (chair), Rosenbarger, Volan*

ACTION: Sgambelluri made the following assignments to the Board and Commission Interview Committees:

Interview Team A-	Smith, Sims, Rosenbarger
Interview Team B-	Sgambelluri, Volan, Flaherty
Interview Team C-	Piedmont-Smith, Rollo, Sandberg

APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS:

ACTION: Sgambelluri announced that council appointments to boards and commissions would take place at the next Regular Session of the Council on January 18, 2023.

LEGISLATION FOR SECOND READING AND RESOLUTIONS:

Resolution 22-20 – A Resolution Responding to Monroe County Board of Commissioners Ordinance 2022-46

MOTION: Rollo moved and it was seconded that <u>Resolution 22-20</u> be introduced and read by title and synopsis only.

ACTION: The motion was approved by voice vote.

MOTION: Rollo moved and it was seconded that <u>Resolution 22-20</u> be adopted. ACTION: The motion to adopt <u>Resolution 22-20</u> received a roll call vote of Ayes: 8, Nays: 1 (Rosenbarger), Abstain: 0.

ADDITIONAL PUBLIC COMMENT

COUNCIL SCHEDULE

ADJOURNMENT [8:34pm]

ACTION: Sgambelluri adjourned the meeting.

Memorandum prepared by: Clerk Nicole Bolden City of Bloomington