MEMORANDUM Bloomington Common Council-Organizational Meeting Bloomington City Hall, 401 N. Morton Street, Bloomington, Indiana Wednesday, January 10, 2024

Meeting called to order: 6:30pm Council Vice President Isabel Piedmont-Smith presided.

ROLL CALL

Councilmembers present: Isak Nti Asare, Matt Flaherty, Isabel Piedmont-Smith, Shruti Rana, Dave Rollo, Kate Rosenbarger, Andy Ruff, Hopi Stosberg, Sydney Zulich

Councilmembers present via Zoom: none

Councilmembers absent: none

City staff, officials, and guests present: Mayor Kerry Thomson, Deputy Mayor Gretchen Knapp, Jane Kupersmith, Margie Rice, Jessica McClellan, Sharr Pechac, Ash Kulak, Stephen Lucas, City Clerk Nicole Bolden

AGENDA SUMMATION

Council Vice President Isabel Piedmont-Smith noted that she was opening the council meeting as the returning Council Vice President, gave a land and labor acknowledgment, and summarized the agenda.

REPORTS

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

MOTION: Zulich moved and Asare seconded that Isabel Piedmont-Smith be elected as President. ACTION: The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

MOTION: Asare moved and Rana seconded that Andy Ruff be elected as Vice President. ACTION: The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

MOTION: Rosenbarger moved and Ruff seconded that Hopi Stosberg be elected as Parliamentarian. ACTION: The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Incoming Council President Isabel Piedmont-Smith presided over the remainder of the meeting.

APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS:

Economic Development

MOTION: Asare moved and Zulich seconded that Asare be appointed to the Bloomington Economic Development Corporation.

MOTION: Zulich moved and Asare seconded that Zulich be appointed to the Downtown Bloomington, Inc. Board of Directors.

MOTION: Asare moved and Flaherty seconded that Asare be appointed to Economic Development Commission (County).

MOTION: Asare moved and Rollo seconded that Asare be appointed to Economic Development Commission (City).

ACTION: The motions related to the Economic Development appointments received a roll call vote of Ayes: 8, Nays: 0, Abstain: 1(Asare).

APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS (cont'd)

Planning and Transportation

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Rosenbarger seconded that Stosberg be appointed to the Plan Commission. MOTION: Rana moved and Rosenbarger seconded that Rana be appointed to the Metropolitan Planning Organization.

MOTION: Flaherty moved and Rosenbarger seconded that Flaherty be appointed to Parking Commission.

ACTION: The motions related to the Planning and Transportation appointments received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Sustainability and Environment

MOTION: Piedmont-Smith moved and Zulich seconded that Piedmont-Smith be appointed to the Board of the Waste Reduction District of Monroe County.

MOTION: Rollo moved and Zulich seconded that Rollo be appointed to the Bloomington Commission on Sustainability.

ACTION: The motions related to the Sustainability and Environment appointments received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Community Development Block Grant

MOTION: Zulich moved and Rollo seconded that Zulich be appointed to the Citizens Advisory Committee-Community Development Block Grants-Social Services.

MOTION: Rosenbarger moved and Stosberg seconded that Rosenbarger be appointed to the Citizens Advisory Committee- Community Development Block Grants-Physical Improvements.

ACTION: The motions related to the Community Development Block Grant appointments received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Tax Advisory Boards

MOTION: Ruff moved and Stosberg seconded that Ruff be appointed to the Monroe County Food and Beverage Tax Advisory Commission.

MOTION: Rosenbarger moved and Stosberg seconded that Rosenbarger be appointed to the Public Safety Local Income Tax Allocation Committee.

MOTION: Zulich moved and Rollo seconded that Zulich be appointed to the Public Safety Local Income Tax Allocation Committee.

MOTION: Ruff moved and Stosberg seconded that Ruff be appointed to the Public Safety Local Income Tax Allocation Committee.

MOTION: Piedmont-Smith moved and Stosberg seconded that Piedmont-Smith be appointed to the Public Safety Local Income Tax Allocation Committee.

ACTION: The motions related to the Tax Advisory Boards appointments received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Utilities

MOTION: Flaherty moved and Rollo seconded that Flaherty be appointed to the Utilities Services Board.

ACTION: The motion related to the Utilities appointment received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

ASSIGNMENTS TO COUNCIL COMMITTEES:

ACTION: Piedmont-Smith appointed the following councilmembers to the Climate Action & Resilience Committee: Flaherty (Chair), Stosberg, Rollo, Zulich.

ACTION: Piedmont-Smith appointed the following councilmembers to the Jack Hopkins Social Services Funding Committee: Rana (Chair), Asare, Ruff, Stosberg.

ACTION: Piedmont-Smith appointed the following councilmembers to the Council Sidewalk Committee: Rosenbarger (Chair), Ruff, Stosberg, Rana.

ACTION: Piedmont-Smith made the following assignments to the Board and Commission Interview Committees:

Interview Team A-	Asare, Rosenbarger, Stosberg
Interview Team B-	Ruff, Piedmont-Smith, Rana
Interview Team C-	Flaherty, Rollo, Zulich

ACTION: Piedmont-Smith continued the Special Committee on Council Processes and appointed the following councilmembers to the Special Committee: Piedmont-Smith (chair), Flaherty, Rollo, Rana.

ADDITIONAL PUBLIC COMMENT

COUNCIL SCHEDULE

ADJOURNMENT [8:05pm]

ACTION: Piedmont-Smith adjourned the meeting.

Memorandum prepared by: Clerk Nicole Bolden City of Bloomington