MEMORANDUM

Bloomington Common Council-Regular Session Bloomington City Hall, 401 N. Morton Street, Bloomington, Indiana Wednesday, April 03, 2024

Meeting called to order: 6:30pm Council President Isabel Piedmont-Smith presided.

ROLL CALL

Councilmembers present: Isak Nti Asare, Courtney Daily, Matt Flaherty, Isabel Piedmont-Smith, Dave Rollo, Kate Rosenbarger, Andy Ruff, Hopi Stosberg, Sydney Zulich Councilmembers present via Zoom: none Councilmembers absent: none City staff, officials, and guests present: Ryan Robling, Dean Chamberlain, Chaz Mottinger, Andrea "De" de la Rosa, Jane Kupersmith, Mayor Kerry Thomson, Stephen Lucas, City Clerk Nicole Bolden

AGENDA SUMMATION

Council President Isabel Piedmont-Smith gave a land and labor acknowledgment and summarized the agenda.

MOTION: Zulich moved and Stosberg seconded to amend the normal order of business by taking up legislation for first readings before legislation for second readings. ACTION: The motion was approved by voice vote.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

February 19, 2003 – Regular Session March 5, 2003 – Regular Session March 26, 2003 – Regular Session April 16, 2003 – Regular Session

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded to suspend the rules to consider the minutes for approval. ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded to approve the minutes of February 19, 2003, March 5, 2003, March 26, 2003, and April 16, 2003. ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

REPORTS Councilmembers

APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

MOTION: Piedmont-Smith moved and Ruff seconded to make the following Board and Commission appointments:

- For the Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Commission to appoint Drew Yeager to seat C-3.
- For the Environmental Commission to appoint Gabby Robles to seat C-1, Adam Martinez to seat C-5, and Nadia Cain to seat C-6.
- For the Dr. MLK Birthday Celebration Commission to appoint Aniah Fountain to seat C-1.
- For the Traffic Commission to reappoint Sarah Ryterband to seat C-3, reappoint Ryne Shadday to seat C-6.
- For the Commission on the Status of Women to appoint Shayla George to seat C-2.

ACTION: The motion was approved by voice vote.

LEGISLATION FOR FIRST READINGS

<u>Ordinance 2024-03</u> – To Amend Title 20 (Unified Development Ordinance) of the Bloomington Municipal Code – Re: Technical Corrections Set Forth in BMC 20

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded that <u>Ordinance 2024-03</u> be introduced and read by title and synopsis only.

ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

<u>Ordinance 2024-04</u> – To Amend Title 20 (Unified Development Ordinance) of the Bloomington Municipal Code – Re: Amendments and Updates Set Forth in BMC 20 Table of Contents and 20.04

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded that <u>Ordinance 2024-04</u> be introduced and read by title and synopsis only.

ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

<u>Ordinance 2024-05</u> – To Amend Title 20 (Unified Development Ordinance) of the Bloomington Municipal Code – Re: Amendments and Updates Set Forth in BMC 20.02; 20.03; 20.05; 20.07

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded that <u>Ordinance 2024-05</u> be introduced and read by title and synopsis only.

ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

<u>Ordinance 2024-06</u> – To Amend Title 20 (Unified Development Ordinance) of the Bloomington Municipal Code – Re: Amendments and Updates Set Forth in BMC 20.06

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded that <u>Ordinance 2024-06</u> be introduced and read by title and synopsis only.

ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

LEGISLATION FOR SECOND READING AND RESOLUTIONS

<u>Resolution 2024-07</u> – Establishing the Goal of Reducing Traffic Deaths and Serious Injuries on the City's Roadways to Zero in the City by the Year 2039

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded that <u>Resolution 2024-07</u> be introduced and read by title and synopsis only.

ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded to adopt <u>Resolution 2024-07</u>. ACTION: The motion to adopt <u>Resolution 2024-07</u> received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

MOTION: Zulich moved and Asare seconded to recess for ten (10) minutes. ACTION: Piedmont-Smith announced a 10-minute recess, with the meeting to recommence at 9:02pm.

:: RECESS ::

<u>Resolution 2024-05</u> – A Resolution Authorizing the 2024 Outdoor Dining Program in the Downtown Corridor

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded that <u>Resolution 2024-05</u> be introduced and read by title and synopsis only.

ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote. (Rollo out of the room)

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded to adopt <u>Resolution 2024-05</u>. ACTION: The motion to adopt <u>Resolution 2024-05</u> received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

<u>Resolution 2024-08</u> – A Resolution Calling for a Cessation of Hostilities and for Delivery of Humanitarian Aid to Civilians in Gaza

ACTION: Piedmont-Smith passed the gavel to Ruff.

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded that <u>Resolution 2024-08</u> be introduced and read by title and synopsis only.

ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Ruff seconded to adopt <u>Resolution 2024-08</u>.

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Asare seconded to limit public comment to two minutes per speaker for a total of three hours of public comment. ACTION: Stosberg withdrew her motion.

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Asare seconded to limit public comment to two minutes per speaker, and to end public comment at 11:40pm.

ACTION: The motion was approved by a voice vote.

MOTION: Rosenbarger moved and Zulich seconded to move to final council comment and to limit council comment to two (2) minutes per speaker, and to allow councilmembers to give their time to one another. ACTION: The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 5 (Flaherty, Piedmont-Smith, Rosenbarger, Stosberg, Zulich), Nays: 4 (Asare, Daily, Rollo, Ruff), Abstain: 0. FAILED (Clerk's Note: Motions to limit council comment needed a 2/3 majority to pass.)

MOTION: Rollo moved and Ruff seconded to allow two (2) minutes per member of the public and one (1) minute per councilmember for comments.

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Flaherty seconded to divide the question. ACTION: The motion to divide the question was approved by voice vote.

ACTION: The motion to allow two (2) minutes per member of the public received a roll call vote of Ayes: 3 (Daily, Rollo, Ruff), Nays: 6 (Asare, Flaherty, Piedmont-Smith, Rosenbarger, Stosberg, Zulich), Abstain: 0. FAILED

ACTION: The motion to allow one (1) minute per councilmember for final comments received a roll call vote of Ayes: 7 (Daily, Flaherty, Piedmont-Smith, Rollo, Rosenbarger, Stosberg, Zulich), Nays: 2 (Asare, Ruff), Abstain: 0.

ACTION: The motion to adopt <u>Resolution 2024-08</u> received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

ACTION: Ruff passed the gavel back to Piedmont-Smith.

ADJOURNMENT [11:59pm]

MOTION: Stosberg moved and Flaherty seconded adjourn the meeting. ACTION: Piedmont-Smith adjourned the meeting.

Memorandum prepared by: Clerk Nicole Bolden City of Bloomington