In the Council Chambers of the Showers City Hall on Wednesday, January 5, 2011 at 7:30 pm with Council President Susan Sandberg presiding over a Organizational Session of the Common Council.

Roll Call: Mayer, Piedmont-Smith, Rollo, Ruff, Sandberg, Satterfield, Sturbaum, Volan, Wisler Absent: None

Council President Sandberg gave the Agenda Summation

There were no minutes at this meeting to be approved.

It was moved and seconded that the following slate of officers be elected:

President:Susan SandbergVice President:Andy RuffParliamentarian:Tim Mayer

This slate was approved by a voice vote. Council Members changed seats in accordance with their new positions as assigned by the new president. New Council President Sandberg thanked outgoing President Piedmont-Smith for her service, and presented her with an engraved gavel to commemorate her term as president.

It was moved and seconded that the following appointments to various council positions be approved.

Citizens Advisory Committee (Community Development Block Grants) -Social Services Susan Sandberg

Timothy Mayer -Physical Improvements Commission for Bloomington Downtown Chris Sturbaum Economic Development Commission (City) Mike Satterfield Economic Development Commission (County) Regina Moore Environmental Resource Advisory Committee Dave Rollo Metropolitan Planning Organization Andy Ruff Plan Commission **Piedmont-Smith** Solid Waste Management District Stephen Volan Urban Enterprise Association Board Chris Sturbaum Utilities Services Board Timothy Mayer Bloomington Economic Development Corporation Susan Sandberg Dave Rollo Bloomington Commission on Sustainability

The nominations were approved by a voice vote.

President Sandberg appointed the following council members to the Council Social Services Funding Committee:

Mayer, Piedmont-Smith, Ruff, Sandberg and Satterfield President Sandberg appointed the following council members to the Council Sidewalk Committee:

Rollo, Sturbaum and Satterfield, Ruff

President Sandberg appointed council members to Board and Commission Interview Committees as they served in the past year.

It was moved and seconded that the council affirm the Mayor's reappointment of Danielle Bachant-Bell, Marjorie Hudgins and Marleen Newman to the Historic Preservation Commission. The appointments were affirmed by a voice vote. COMMON COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION January 5, 2011

ROLL CALL

AGENDA SUMMATION

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

BOARD AND COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS

It was moved and seconded that Mary Balle and Dee Brown be appointed to the Community and Family Resources Commission. The appointments were approved by a voice vote.

This being the first meeting of the year, there was no legislation for consideration for final action.

There was no legislation to be introduced at this meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:58 pm.

APPROVE:

ATTEST:

Susan Sandberg, PRESIDENT Bloomington Common Council

Regina Moore, CLERK City of Bloomington

Boards and Commission Appointments (cont'd)

LEGISLATION FOR SECOND READING

LEGISLATION FOR FIRST READING

ADJOURNMENT