In the Council Chambers of the Showers City Hall on Wednesday, January 3, 2006 at 7:30 pm with Council President Andy Ruff presiding over the Organizational Session of the Common Council.

Roll Call: Banach, Diekhoff, Ruff, Gaal, Rollo, Sturbaum, Volan, Sabbagh, Mayer Absent: Banach

Council President Andy Ruff gave the Agenda Summation

The minutes of December 7, 2005 were approved by a voice vote.

Chris Sturbaum thanked outgoing president Ruff for leading the council in 2005.

David Sabbagh wished everyone a Happy New Year and said it was time to get back to work to do the people's business.

Tim Mayer wished citizens a Happy New Year, adding that he hoped it would be better than 2005.

Mayor Mark Kruzan wished all a Happy New Year.

Kruzan noted the recent passing of citizen David Porter, saying he was a man of passion who worked in the community with technical expertise and worked with decision makers to help them learn about community issues. He said Porter's heart and soul were of the earth and for the earth.

On a lighter note, Kruzan noted that when former council President Ruff took the gavel last year, his candidacy was met with a bit of skepticism by the local newspaper. He said that Ruff treated all folks fairly and with respect and should be proud of the accomplishments of the year. He said that there was usually a natural friction between a council and administration, but that there had been few disagreements this year, and those that occurred had been civil and any criticism had been constructive. Kruzan awarded Ruff with a case of a high caffeine soft drink and a framed picture of Ruff in a very special Halloween costume.

Mayer noted that he was unaware that David Porter had passed away, and related that he had worked with this remarkable man.

There were no committee appointments at this time.

Todd Lare, Director of South Central Community Action Project (SCCAP) thanked the council and the mayor for the grant that they had recently awarded SCCAP for home heating assistance. Lare said that SCCAP had committed to \$230,000 for crisis assistance and to \$600,000 of regular assistance for home heating this winter. He said that the agency could serve folks who earn up to 150% of poverty level, and gave dollar amounts and how to apply.

Lare also thanked the city for the other projects that they worked on with SCCAP: homes, rentals, Section 8 waiting list housing, water and sewage bill assistance, and trash tag assistance.

It was moved (Gaal) and seconded (Diekhoff) that the following officers be nominated for the following offices for 2006.

President Chris Sturbaum

COMMON COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING January 3, 2006

ROLL CALL

AGENDA SUMMATION

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

REPORTS:

COUNCILMEMBERS

MAYOR and CITY OFFICES

COUNCIL COMMITTEES

PUBLIC INPUT

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Vice President Dave Rollo Parliamentarian Timothy Mayer

The nominations were approved by a voice vote.

Council President Sturbaum presented outgoing president Andy Ruff with an engraved gavel to commemorate his year's service as council president and thanked him for a job well done in leading the council during 2006. Ruff thanked the council for allowing him the opportunity to serve the council and thanked the council staff and the clerk staff for their help and work.

Council Members exchanged seats in accordance with their new positions.

It was moved and seconded that the following appointments to various Council Positions be considered:

Citizens Advisory Committee (Community Development Block Grants) -Social Services Andy Ruff

-Physical Improvements Commission for Bloomington Downtown Economic Development Commission (City) Economic Development Commission (County) Environmental Resource Advisory Committee Metropolitan Planning Organization Plan Commission Solid Waste Management District Urban Enterprise Association Board Utilities Services Board Bloomington Economic Development Corporation Bloomington Commission on Sustainability Andy Ruff Timothy Mayer Chris Sturbaum Mike Diekhoff Regina Moore Chris Gaal Andy Ruff Chris Gaal Stephen Volan Chris Sturbaum Timothy Mayer Chris Sturbaum Dave Rollo

The nominations were approved by a voice vote.

President Sturbaum appointed the following council members to the Council Social Services Funding Committee:

Gaal, Mayer, Rollo, Ruff, and Sabbagh

President Sturbaum appointed the following council members to the Council Sidewalk Committee:

Mayer, Rollo, Ruff, Sturbaum

President Sturbaum appointed council members to Board and Commission Interview Committees in accordance to the committees that they served on last year. The two exceptions were that Mayer would replace Volan on the USB interview committee and that Sturbaum would replace Mayer on the CFR interview committee.

It was moved and seconded that the following citizens be appointed to full terms on city boards and commissions:

Utilities Service BoardSusan SandbergAnimal Control CommissionShirley DaviesHousing Quality Appeals BoardNikki MontembaultHuman Rights CommissionVal HaughtonCommission on the Status of WomenD orothy Granger

This being the first meeting of the new year, there was no legislation for final action.

It was moved and seconded that the following legislation be introduced and read by title and synopsis only. Clerk Moore read the legislation by

LEGISLATION FOR SECOND READING

LEGISLATION FOR FIRST READING

Election of Officers (cont'd)

BOARD AND COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS

title and synopsis.

Ordinance 06-01 To Vacate a Public Parcel - Re: Rights-of-Way Running North /South and East/West Between College Avenue and Walnut Street and 14th Street and 15th Street (Cedarwood Development, Petitioner)

ATTEST:

There was no public comment at this point in the meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:58 pm.

APPROVE:

Telez

Chris Sturbaum, PRESIDENT Bloomington Common Council

Matt Weber, DEPUTYCLERK City of Bloomington Ordinance 06-01

PUBLIC INPUT

ADJOURNMENT