D MONROE COUNTY
3 DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Monroe County Domestic Violence Coalition
Meeting Minutes
February 15, 2019

Mission: The Monroe County Domestic Violence Coalition is committed to improving our
community’s response to domestic violence issues through communication and coordination of
services.

Attending: Michelle Gregory (Attorney), Harry Heyer (BIP Provider), Shannon McBride (DCS),
Debra Morrow (MWH), Arin Pritchard (Work One), Becky Rose (MCCSC), Becky Sharon
(MCPO), Liz Stauth (Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield), Stephanie Waller (MWH), Jennifer
Whitake (Centerstone), Ken Bugler (Probation), Robert Althauser (CASA), Mary Goeta (KAP),
Diane Walker (District 10 Probono), Brittany Lawrence (DCS), Jake Parker (DCS), Amanda
Vanleeuwen (DCS), Rachel Burnworth (DCS)

City Staff: Morgan Allen (OOTM), Michael Shermis (CFRD)

[.  Introductions
A. Brief introductions
Il.  Domestic Violence and Child Welfare in Indiana- Elizabeth Bullock (DCS)
A. DCS data (charts included in slides)
1. January 2019:29 substantiated claims, over 200 unsubstantiated cases
2. 71% of substantiated claims were neglect (drug use and DV most
common)
3. 445 children and 227 families receiving services from DCS
B. DCS hotline number: 1-800-800-5556
1. All calls received are screened for DV
2. All reports will be assigned that allege that a child withesses or was
present in the home during an incident of DV
C. Who should report?
1. Indianais a mandatory reporting state
a) Any person who has reason to believe a child is being abused or
neglected should make a report
b) Medical professionals, teachers and law enforcement have a
higher duty to report abuse or neglect
2. What scenarios often prevent people from reporting?
a) Attorney-client privilege



(1) Elizabeth will follow up to clarify this
(a) Is there an immediacy exception?
b) Worry that a report will cause more issues
D. Initiation timelines
1. If law enforcement agency is on the scene and has requested assistance,
DCS will respond within 1 hour to the scene
2. Any reports of current alleged DV will be initiated in 24 hours
Any reports of alleged DV within 48 hours will be initiated in 24 hours
4. Any reports of DV more than 48 hours ago and child(ren) are not believed
to be in danger will be initiated within 5 days
5. Any call involving children under the age of three is a mandatory 24 hour
initiation
E. Assessment prep
1. Prior to contacting the family DCS wiill:
a) Contact law enforcement for previous law enforcement contacts
b) Check DCS system for previous assessments
c) Search MyCase and MyCourts.in.gov for criminal history and
protective orders
d) Determine if a detective is already on the case
F. Conducting the assessment
1. Assessment involving DV does not warrant an automatic removal to
ensure safety of children
2. Struggle to keep children safe without penalizing the non offending parent
G. Required interviews
1. Allinterviews should be performed separately
2. Allinterviews must be performed without the alleged DV offender present
3. Talk to non offending parent before interview
4. If both parents are listed as offending parents, then DCS can use exigent
circumstances
5. Interview order
a) Children
b) Parents
(1) Try to talk with non offending parent without the offender
(2) Non offending parent does not always disclose
(a) Always ask about safe times to make future contact
c) Witnesses
H. Interviewing children
1. Three guiding principles (included in slides)
2. DCS will not disclose any information any information learned from the
non offending parent with the child(ren)
I. Factors of assessment
1. Age
2. Developmental status
3. Understanding of safety
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Ability to participate in own safety
Rick based on neglect/abuse type
Parents’ acknowledgement of problem
Parents willingness to change
8. Access to other safe adults
J. Interviewing offender
1. Information from non-offending parent or children is not shared (only
information from 3rd parties)
K. Safety planning
1. Safety plan with children and non-offending parent is not shared with
offender when possible
2. Safety plans made with other entities can be used
L. Protective Orders
1. DCS will not force a parent to file a protective order
a) If DCS feels that safety of the child cannot be maintained, the
child will be detained
b) DCS will provide the option of a protective order to parents as part
of safety planning
M. Intervention options
1. Community resources
2. Informal adjustment
a) Approved by judge
b) DCS provides services 6-9 months
3. In-Home CHINS
a) Active court case, but children remain in the home
b) Inthe care of the state, but remain with the parents
4. Removal
N. Child and family team meetings
1. Case managers sit with the children and family to plan
2. Parents decide who participate in meetings
a) Can invite advocates
O. Closing a case
1. Has safety improved and has the reason for intervention been corrected
to the best of our ability
P. Questions
1. Can DCS file protective order for a child against the offending parent?
a) No
2. What does DCS do if the family declines a team meeting?
a) DCS will look into and can escalate
3. How are the adjacent counties grouped?
a) Region 13
b) Region 9
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lll.  Staff Update
IV. Information sharing



A. MWH will be sharing April events with the group
1. Friday, April 12: Little 500 destress zone at People’s Park
2. Thursday, April 18th: Consent 201 class
3. Thursday, April 25th: Consent and Accountability
Toby Strout street naming: March 8th, 5-6
Love Songs: March 2nd
Spring Luncheon: April 4th
Faces of Aces Conference
1. Reach out to Elizabeth Bullock for a table
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Next Meetings:

April 12, 2019, McCloskey Room, 12-1pm
Guest Speaker: Christie Popp, Popp & Bullman, Attorneys-at-Law
Topic: Domestic Violence and Immigration Law

May 17, 2019, McCloskey Room, 12-1pm
Guest Speaker: Brad Swain, Monroe County Sheriff
Topic: Domestic Violence, Protective Orders and Guns

June 21, 2019, McCloskey Room, 12-1pm
Guest Speaker: Stephanie Waller
Topic: Domestic Violence and the LGBTQ+ Community



