In the Council Chambers of the Showers City Hall on Wednesday, January 8, 2014 at 7:30 pm with Council President Darryl Neher presiding over a Organizational Session of the Common Council.

COMMON COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION January 8, 2014

Roll Call: Granger, Mayer, Neher, Ruff, Sandberg, Spechler, Sturbaum, Volan, Rollo

ROLL CALL

Absent: None

Council President Neher gave the Agenda Summation

AGENDA SUMMATION

There were no minutes at this meeting to be approved.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

REPORTS

• Council members

Steve Volan wished everyone a Happy New Year, and noted that we had survived the snowpocolypse.

Tim Mayer thanked city fire fighters and police officers as well as the employees of the Utilities and Street departments who continued city services through the recent bout of sub-zero temperatures and heavy snow. He also wished everyone a Happy New Year.

Chris Sturbaum said that when it snowed it was a good time to remember why we have government. He hoped that 2014 would be a year of working together for the common good.

Neher announced that nominations were sought for Woman of the Year by the Commission on the Status of Women. He announced that applications were being sought for all city boards and commissions. He noted information on both of these city programs was available on the city website.

Neher also announced that the League of Women Voters Legislative Update would take place in Council Chambers on Saturday, January 11,

There were no reports at this segment of the meeting.

Mayor and City Offices

There were no reports from council committees at this meeting.

Council Committees

There were no comments from the public.

Public Comments

It was moved and seconded that the following slate of officers be elected:

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

President:

Darryl Neher

Vice President: Dorothy Granger

Parliamentarian: Tim Mayer

The slate was approved by a voice vote.

Volan moved and it was seconded that the following appointments to various council positions be approved.

BOARD AND COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS

Citizens Advisory Committee (Community Development Block Grants)

-Social Services

Susan Sandberg

-Physical Improvements Commission for Bloomington Downtown Timothy Mayer

Economic Development Commission (City)

Steve Volan

Economic Development Commission (County)

Darryl Neher Regina Moore

Environmental Resource Advisory Committee

Dave Rollo

Metropolitan Planning Organization

Andy Ruff

Plan Commission Solid Waste Management District Urban Enterprise Association Board Utilities Services Board Bloomington Economic Development Corporation Bloomington Commission on Sustainability

Chris Sturbaum Stephen Volan Chris Sturbaum Timothy Mayer Dorothy Granger Dave Rollo

The nominations were approved by a voice vote.

President Neher appointed the following council members to the Council Social Services Funding Committee:

Mayer, Neher, Sandberg, Ruff and Spechler

President Neher appointed the following council members to the Council Sidewalk Committee:

Granger, Rollo, Sturbaum and Spechler

President Neher noted the year's Interview Committee assignments:

- A- Spechler, Mayer, Sturbaum
- B- Granger, Volan, Ruff
- C- Neher, Rollo, Sandberg

This being the first meeting of the year, there was no legislation for consideration for final action.

There was no legislation to be introduced at this meeting.

There were no comments in this segment of the meeting.

There were no adjustments or additions to the council schedule.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:58 pm.

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

LEGISLATION FOR SECOND

READING

LEGISLATION FOR FIRST

READING

ADDITIONAL PUBLIC COMMENT

COUNCIL SCHEDULE

ADJOURNMENT

APPROVE:

Darryl Neher, 🏲 RESIDENT Bloomington Common Council

ATTEST:

Regina Moore, CLERK City of Bloomington