In the Council Chambers of the Showers City Hall on Wednesday, January 9, 2013 at 7:30 pm with Council President Tim Mayer presiding over a Organizational Session of the Common Council.

Roll Call: Granger, Mayer, Neher, Ruff, Sandberg, Spechler, Sturbaum, Volan,

Absent: Rollo

Council President Mayer gave the Agenda Summation

There were no minutes at this meeting to be approved.

Steve Volan wished everyone a Happy New Year.

Tim Mayer said this would be his last meeting as presiding officer and thanked the council for their support and service.

There were no reports at this segment of the meeting.

There were no reports from council committees at this meeting.

Gabe Rivera thanked Mayer for his service and thanked the council for the opportunity to speak. He spoke about the drug war and justice issues.

Volan moved and Sandberg seconded the motion that the following slate ELECTION OF OFFICERS of officers be elected:

President: Darryl Neher Vice President: Dorothy Granger Parliamentarian: Tim Mayer

The slate was approved by a voice vote. Members changed seats as assigned by the new president. Council President Neher thanked outgoing President Mayer for his service, and presented him with an engraved gavel to commemorate his term as president.

Mayer made a statement thanking Ruff for his encouragement in asking him to seek the office of the president for 2012. He also thanked Volan for being the one to actually make the nomination in January of 2012.

Volan moved and it was seconded that the following appointments to various council positions be approved.

Citizens Advisory Committee (Community Development Block Grants) -Social Services

-Physical Improvements Commission for Bloomington Downtown Economic Development Commission (City) Economic Development Commission (County) Environmental Resource Advisory Committee Metropolitan Planning Organization Plan Commission Solid Waste Management District Urban Enterprise Association Board Utilities Services Board Bloomington Economic Development Corporation Bloomington Commission on Sustainability

The nominations were approved by a voice vote.

COMMON COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION January 9, 2013

ROLL CALL

AGENDA SUMMATION

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

REPORTS

- Council members
- Mayor and City Offices
- **Council Committees**
- **Public Comments**

BOARD AND COMMISSION **APPOINTMENTS**

Susan Sandberg Timothy Mayer Steve Volan Darryl Neher Regina Moore Dave Rollo Andy Ruff Chris Sturbaum Stephen Volan Chris Sturbaum Timothy Mayer Dorothy Granger Dave Rollo

p. 2 Meeting Date: 1-9-13

President Neher appointed the following council members to the Council Social Services Funding Committee:

Mayer, Neher, Sandberg, Ruff and Spechler President Mayer appointed the following council members to the Council Sidewalk Committee:

Granger, Rollo, Sturbaum and Spechler

This being the first meeting of the year, there was no legislation for consideration for final action.

Ordinance 13-01 To Vacate a Public Parcel – Re: a 50-foot Wide, 768-Feet Long Segment of South Tech Boulevard Running North of West Schmaltz Boulevard (Public Investment Corporation, Petitioner)

Ordinance 13-02 To Amend Title 2 of the Bloomington Municipal Code Entitled "Administration and Personnel" and Title 20 of the Bloomington Municipal Code Entitled "Unified Development Ordinance" - Re: Various Changes to Make the Local Code Consistent with Other Provisions of the Code, State and Federal Law, and Best Practice

There were no comments in this segment of the meeting.

There were no adjustments or additions to the council schedule.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:58 pm. It was followed by a Committee of the Whole meeting.

APPROVE:

Darryl Neher, PRESIDENT Bloomington Common Council ATTEST:

Regina Moore, CLERK City of Bloomington

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

LEGISLATION FOR SECOND READING

LEGISLATION FOR FIRST READING Ordinance 13-01

Ordinance 13-02

ADDITIONAL PUBLIC COMMENT

COUNCIL SCHEDULE

ADJOURNMENT