

Monroe County Domestic Violence Coalition Meeting Minutes September 21, 2018

Mission: The Monroe County Domestic Violence Coalition is committed to improving our community's response to domestic violence issues through communication and coordination of services.

Attending: Heath Adkins (Probation), Heather Davis (MWH), Michelle Gregory (Attorney), Alison Leslie (Spencer Psychology), Ro Osborne (Prosecutor's Office), Gideon Porter (POP), Tina Smith (Trinity), Ron Smith (Indianapolis Counseling Center), Stephanie Waller (MWH), Jennifer Whitaker (Centerstone/REC), April Wilson (Prosecutor's Office), Selina Hardt (MWH), Shelby Jade Hoshaw (POAP), Brittany Lawrence (DCS)

City Staff: Michael Shermis and Morgan Wells

- I. Introductions
 - A. Brief introductions
- II. Housing Protections for DV Survivors- Marcy Wenzler, Indiana Legal Services
 - A. IN Statute IC 32-31-9
 - 1. This is an Indiana state statute meant to protect DV survivors
 - a) Survivors must have a protective order or no contact order in place for this statute to apply.
 - 2. Three main protections
 - a) Landlord must change locks on property
 - (1) The survivor must provide a written copy of this request
 - (2) Must replace within 24 hours of the request if the perpetrator is on the lease
 - (a) The perpetrator is still responsible for meeting the requirements of the lease, even if they are locked out.
 - (b) The landlord cannot give the perpetrator access to the unit without a court order
 - (3) Must replace within 48 hours of the request if the perpetrator is not on the lease

- (4) If the landlord does not meet these requirements then the survivor can replace the locks themselves and the landlord is responsible for the costs
- b) Landlord is unable to deny, terminate or retaliate against the tenants
 - (1) This is difficult because the statute only protects the above against the above actions if they are in response to domestic violence. It does not protect the tenant if they have other violations such as late payment, damage, etc.
- c) Tenant may terminate the lease early with no penalty
 - (1) The survivor must provide a written copy of this request with 30 days' notice
 - (2) The survivor is responsible for the 30 days of rent, but is not required to live in the unit for that time
- B. Violence Against Women Act 34 U.S.C. 12491
 - 1. This is a federal act that is applicable when survivors live in public housing
 - 2. There are three main protections under this act
 - a) Federal subsidies can be given to survivors for public housing
 - b) Tenants that are living in public housing cannot be discriminated against
 - (1) Cannot be denied or evicted
 - c) Tenants can request to be formally relocated
 - (1) A formal relocation request must come from a certified counselor
 - (2) If you are submitting one of these requests, please contact Marcy in advance so she can flag the application
- C. Fair Housing Act
 - 1. Domestic Violence survivors are not a protected class under this act, but protection can fall under sex discrimination
 - 2. This act is applicable for public and private housing
 - 3. This also can include sexual harassment from rental staff, gender identity, and sexual orientation
- D. Resources
 - 1. Nhlp.org has great resources in "initiatives", including brochures that can be printed.
 - a) Do not use Internet Explorer when looking at this resource
 - 2. Marcy's contact info
 - a) Please do not send applicants to her, but you are welcome to email her to flag an application
 - b) marcy.wenzler@ilsi.net
- E. Questions

- 1. Can the landlord file a protective order against a perpetrator is there is a fear of breaking in or damage?
 - a) The landlord can have people removed or trespassed, but not file a protective order. This must come from the survivor.
- 2. How do you define victim?
 - a) IN code defines a victim or alleged victim in 32-39-3
 - (1) This can include domestic violence, family violence, stalking and sexual assault
- 3. What if there was a protective order in place but it was dismissed by the survivor?
 - a) The survivor only has to meet the criteria at the time of the notice
- 4. There was a discussion about a specific case that one of the coalition members is dealing with. All of the coalition members jumped in to help.

III. Staff update

A. No staff update, except to send statistics

IV. Information sharing

- A. Ron Smith-Indianapolis Counseling Center
 - 1. The counseling center offers counseling for batterers
 - 2. Instead of doing individual intakes, they have shifted to orientation sessions
 - 3. The cost for group has dropped to \$25
 - a) Group takes place Wednesday 4-5:30 and Thursday 10:30-12

B. POAP

- 1. POAP saw an uptick in the amount of intakes last week
- 2. Please keep referring this as a resource. It is completely free and confidential.
- C. MC LINK Alliance
 - 1. There was recently an FBI study released on the connections between animal and people abuse
 - 2. MC LINK Alliance is open to giving presentations to your group about this
 - 3. If interested, please schedule at mclinkalliance.com
- D. Middle Way House
 - 1. Thursday, October 5th at 6 p.m. is the yarn ribbon cutting at the Middle Way House Tree
 - 2. Friday, October 19th is the MWH fall luncheon with guest speaker Dawn Johnsen. Tickets are \$30.

Next Meeting: October 19, 2018, McCloskey Room, 12-1pm

Guest Speaker: Precious McMillion, Office for Sexual Violence Prevention and Victim Advocacy, IU

Topic: The Role of a Confidential Victim Advocate