In the Council Chambers of the Showers City Hall, Bloomington, Indiana on Wednesday, April 29, 2020 at 6:30pm, Council President Steve Volan presided over a Special Session of the Common Council. Per the Governor's Executive Orders, this meeting was conducted electronically.

COMMON COUNCIL SPECIAL SESSION April 29, 2020

Councilmembers present: Matt Flaherty, Isabel Piedmont-Smith, Dave Rollo, Kate Rosenbarger, Susan Sandberg, Sue Sgambelluri, Jim Sims, Ron Smith, Stephen Volan Councilmembers absent: none ROLL CALL [6:32pm]

Council President Stephen Volan summarized the agenda.

AGENDA SUMMATION [6:33pm]

Sandberg moved and it was seconded to reappoint Valeri Haughton to the Human Rights Commission. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Sandberg moved and it was seconded to reappoint Byron Bangert to the Human Rights Commission. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Piedmont-Smith moved and it was seconded to appoint Amelia Lahn to the Commission on the Status of Children and Youth. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Piedmont-Smith moved and it was seconded to appoint Sara Sheikh to the Commission on the Status of Children and Youth. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Sgambelluri moved and it was seconded to appoint Regan Metzger to the Environmental Commission. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Flaherty moved and it was seconded that the Council suspend its rules to consider a board or commission appointment without first receiving an Interview Committee report or recommendation. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Flaherty moved and it was seconded to appoint Daniel Olsson to the Environmental Commission. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Flaherty moved and it was seconded to reappoint Sarah Ryterband to the Traffic Commission. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Flaherty moved and it was seconded to appoint Ryne Shadday to the Traffic Commission. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Flaherty moved and it was seconded to appoint Malik McCluskey to the Traffic Commission. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Flaherty moved and it was seconded to appoint Nicole Griffin to the Commission on the Status of Black Males. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Flaherty moved and it was seconded to appoint Jasmine Hawkins to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Commission. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0. Piedmont-Smith moved and it was seconded to appoint Dairo Baez to seat C-1 on the Commission on Hispanic and Latino Affairs. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

Piedmont-Smith moved and it was seconded to appoint Francisco Ruiz Lemus to seat C-4 on the Commission on Hispanic and Latino Affairs. The motion received a roll call vote of Ayes: 9, Nays: 0, Abstain: 0.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY COUNCIL PRESIDENT: In performing my duty under BMC 2.04.270 to approve meeting agendas, I determined that the items on tonight's agenda are essential matters critical to the operation of the City government.

Sandberg moved and it was seconded to adjourn. The motion was approved by voice vote.

ADJOURNMENT [6:56pm]

APPROVED by the Common Council of the Cit, 2021.	ry of Bloomington, Monroe County, Indiana upon this
APPROVE:	ATTEST:
Jen Sims	MB Ndu
Jim Sims, PRESIDENT Bloomington Common Council	Nicole Bolden, CLERK City of Bloomington