New: Bloomington.in.gov/alpha. Your feedback can help make our next website better!

Volunteer with Parks and Recreation

Volunteers Make Programs Happen!Volunteer logo

Volunteer Page

Current Volunteer Opportunities

For more information on each opportunity, including shift times, click the registration link. For more information on how you, your group or your business can become a volunteer, contact Nikki Wooten at 812-349-3739 or wootenn@bloomington.in.gov. Sign up to receive our monthly newsletter of volunteer opportunities.

ONE-DAY SERVICE OPPORTUNITIES

Opportunity

Date(s)

Registration Link

Group Service Projects

Schedule a day

Click here to register

Bryan Park Creek Maintenance Days

Wed., Sep. 7

Wed., Oct. 5

Click here to register

Ferguson Dog Park Maintenance Days

Wed., Sep. 14

Wed., Oct. 12

Click here to register

New Family Events at Banneker

Fri., Sep. 09

Fri., Oct. 14

Fri., Nov. 11

Fri., Dec. 09

Click here to register

Leonard Springs Nature Days

Tue., Sep. 20

Tue., Sep. 20

Tue.,Oct. 04

Tue., Oct. 18

Tue., Oct. 25
Tue., Nov. 1

Click here to register

Take a Kid Mountain Biking

Sat., Oct. 01

Click here to register

Apple Tasting

Sat., Oct. 01

Click here to register

Star Wars for The Next Generation

Sat., Oct. 22

Click here to register

Trick or Treat Trail

Sat., Oct. 22

Click here to register

Skate and Scare

Sat., Oct. 22

Click here to register

Festival of Ghost Stories

Fri., Oct. 28

Click here to register

Pumpkin Launch

Sat., Oct. 29

Click here to register

Putting the Gardens to Bed

Sat., Oct. 29

Sun., Oct. 30

Sun., Nov. 06

Click here to register

Soup Tasting

Sat., Nov. 05

Click here to register

Holiday Market

Sat., Nov. 26

Click here to register


ONGOING SERVICE OPPORTUNITIES

Opportunity

Commitment

Deadline

Registration Link

Sports Shorties Fall Ball

Sept. 10-Oct. 15

Thu., Sep. 08

Click here to register

Adopt-a-Trail

Oct. 2016-Oct. 2017

Fri., Sep. 30

Click here to register

Adopt-a-Stream

Oct. 2016-Oct. 2017

Fri., Sep. 30

Click here to register

Adopt-an-Acre

Oct. 2016-Oct. 2017

Fri., Sep. 30

Click here to register

Bloomington Youth Basketball Season II

Oct. 17-Dec. 16

Fri., Oct. 07

Click here to register

Basketball Future Stars

Oct. 29-Dec. 17

Thu., Oct. 20

Click here to register

Trail Ambassadors

Feb. 2017-Feb. 2018

Fri., Dec. 30

Click here to register

Banneker Afterschool Program

One semester

None

Click here to register


Leisure Companion
May-August
The Leisure Companion Program is a service in which participants with disabilities are partnered with a volunteer companion who provides additional support during participation in inclusive activities. The level of support will vary according to the specific needs of each individual.
Duties: As a Leisure Companion, you facilitate inclusion by advocating for the participant, providing support during activities, protecting the dignity of the participant, emphasizing similarities of participants, creating an environment for success, encouraging independent participation, and most of all, being a supportive friend!
Program Time: Dates and times will vary according to program needs.
Training: Volunteers are required to attend an orientation prior to the program.
Location: Locations of events and programs vary depending on program registration.
Age of volunteers: 16 yrs. and up

For more information about becoming a Leisure Companion, contact Amy Shrake, Inclusive Recreation Coordinator, at shrakea@bloomington.in.gov


Court Ordered Community Service

Depending on the time year, there are a couple ways to complete your mandated service hours. You may volunteer for one-day service opportunities that are already scheduled and listed above. Simply choose the one-day events that work best for your schedule and sign up for each event individually. Alternatively, you may volunteer with an assigned area through parks - This may include maintaining parks, facilities, or gardens. This may also include clerical work or program preparation. Click here to request an assigned area for Court Ordered Community Service.