Skip to main content

Page last updated on July 24, 2017 at 3:42 pm

City King Commission Seeks Nominees for 2017 Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award

November 17, 2016

For more information, please contact:

Michael Shermis, Special Projects Coordinator, City of Bloomington Community and Family Resources Department, 812-349-3471,

Nicole Griffin, Chair, City of Bloomington Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission, 812-856-4648,

City King Commission Seeks Nominees for Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award
Bloomington, Ind. - The City of Bloomington's Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Commission is soliciting nominees for the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award. The award recognizes and affirms those who have made significant contributions in the areas of race relations, justice, and human rights and is presented annually at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Celebration in January.

Nominees must have been Monroe County residents, businesses, or advocacy groups for at least one year and must have been involved in making tangible and meaningful contributions to the improvement of community conditions and the advancement of race relations, racial justice, or human rights causes.

Past winners of the Legacy Award include Bloomington United, the Monroe County Branch of the NAACP, Guy and Connie Loftman, the Rev. E. D. Butler, the Rev. Michael Anderson, the Monroe County Racial Justice Task Force, the Banneker History Project, Dr. James E. Mumford, Dr. Charlie Nelms, Kenneth W. Thomas, WFHB Community Radio, Elizabeth Mitchell, Daniel Soto Mayorga, John Whikehart, the Indiana University Office of Diversity Education, Marlene and Donald Griffin, Sr., Craig Brenner, and the Rev. Dennis Laffoon.

Nominations may be made online at The deadline for nominations is January 6, 2017. For more information, please contact City of Bloomington Special Projects Coordinator, Michael Shermis, at or 812-349-3471.