Skip to main content

Page last updated on February 7, 2023 at 11:59 am

2023 Women’s History Month Luncheon

The City of Bloomington Commission on the Status of Women announces the 2023 Women’s History Month Luncheon, which will take place on Thursday, March 23, 2023 at the Monroe Convention Center, located at 302 S. College Ave. in Bloomington. 

The theme of this year’s event is “Celebrating Women Who Tell Our Stories,” which encourages the recognition of women, past and present, who have been active in all forms of media and storytelling including print, radio, TV, stage, screen, blogs, podcasts, news, and social media. This timely theme honors women in every community who have devoted their lives and talents to producing art and news, pursuing truth and reflecting society decade after decade. 

This year’s keynote presenter is Indianapolis native Manón Voice, who has become a trusted voice in the the arts and activism community. Manón expresses her passions through her work as a Poet, Hip-Hop Emcee, Speaker, Educator, and advocate for Social Justice. Manón Voice strives to amplify the richness of the human narrative through workshops, public speaking, performance, poetry commissions, collaborations, and more. Learn more about Manón at

The luncheon will also recognize the 2023 Women’s Achievement Award winners, which include the following award categories: 2023 Woman of the Year, the Toby Strout Lifetime Contribution Award, and the Emerging Leader Award. The winners for each of these categories will be announced soon!

Additionally, women owned-businesses and local organizations for women are invited to reserve exhibit space for the luncheon. Exhibits will be available for viewing by luncheon attendees prior to the start of the program. The exhibit registration form is available at:

Doors to the luncheon will open at 11:15 a.m., with the program beginning at 12:15 p.m. The cost of tickets is $25.00 per seat or $275.00 for a reserved table for eight. Tickets must be reserved in advance through the BCT Box Office located at 114 E. Kirkwood Ave., or online at The deadline to purchase tickets is March 13, 2023 at 5 p.m. Scholarships are available for individuals that need assistance purchasing a seat to attend the lunch.


Your sponsorship for the annual Women’s History Month Celebration will help the Bloomington Commission on the Status of Women recognize women who have made outstanding contributions to our community. We will recognize your contribution during the event.

Co-sponsors of this event include the City of Bloomington Commission on the Status of Women and the City of Bloomington Community & Family Resources Department.

For more information about the 2023 Women's History Month Luncheon or the Women's Leadership Development Events please contact Marissa Parr-Scott at 812-349-3430 or

Image of media graphic for Women's History Month Luncehon