Skip to main content

For more information, please contact

Bet Savich, Director, City of Bloomington Volunteer Network, 812-349-3472

City Accepting Nominations for “Be More” Volunteer Awards

Bloomington, Ind. – Nominations are now being accepted for the Be More Awards, the community volunteer awards sponsored by the City of Bloomington Volunteer Network.

“I hope that our community members will take a few minutes to think about people they know who are generous with their time and talents to better our community and then consider nominating them for a Be More Award. Nominating a committed volunteer is the perfect way to say ‘thank you,’ to say ‘I’m proud to know you,’ to say ‘I’m thankful that you live and serve in my community,’” remarked Mayor John Hamilton.

The Community Foundation of Bloomington and Monroe County is a strong supporter of the Be More Awards. Each of the ten award recipients will receive $500 from the Community Foundation for the nonprofit organization where they donate their time. Additional co-sponsors include the IU Credit Union, the United Way of Monroe County, the City of Bloomington and WTIU Public Television.

Nominations may be submitted by members of the general public, community agencies or family members. Ten awards will be chosen from a variety of categories, although not all categories receive an award each year. Demographic categories include youth, college student, and lifetime of service. Issue-oriented categories include arts/culture, wellness/recreation/fitness, animal welfare, education/literacy, and environmental sustainability. Other categories include board member service, volunteer groups, and a un-categorized award called Be More Bloomington.

Nomination forms are available online at Questions can be directed to the Volunteer Network’s Director, Bet Savich, at or 812-349-3472.

Nominations will be accepted through February 2. The Be More Awards ceremony will take place on March 27 from 7:00 to 8:30 p.m. at the Buskirk-Chumley Theater, 114 E. Kirkwood Ave. The event is free and the public is encouraged to attend.