Skip to main content

For more information, please contact

Bet Savich
City of Bloomington Volunteer Network


Be More Awards to Recognize Committed Volunteers

Bloomington, Ind. – The City of Bloomington Volunteer Network and its partners invite the public to the Be More Awards, a community-wide celebration of volunteerism. This 35th annual awards program will be held from 7:00-8:30 p.m. today, Tuesday, March 27, at the Buskirk-Chumley Theater (114 E. Kirkwood).

Forty individual volunteers and twenty volunteer groups have been nominated for awards in a variety of categories, including youth, college student, environmental sustainability, health and wellness, education and literacy, arts and culture, and lifetime of service. The event will announce the ten award recipients and share stories and photos of these incredible people and their extraordinary efforts to improve the lives of Bloomingtonians.

Each award will be presented by a different community member, including Mayor John Hamilton, former mayor Tomilea Allison, Tina Peterson (Community Foundation of Bloomington and Monroe County), and Efrat Feferman (United Way of Monroe County).

“The Be More Awards are a delightful annual reminder of the deep level of commitment our residents have to each other and this community. As we recognize these outstanding award recipients, we see the heart and soul of Bloomington,” said Mayor Hamilton.

The Be More Awards is a program of the City of Bloomington Volunteer Network. The Community Foundation of Bloomington and Monroe County contributes $500 to each of the ten organizations for which the recipients volunteer. Co-sponsors include the IU Credit Union, United Way of Monroe County, City of Bloomington Community and Family Resources Department, and WTIU Public Television.

The event is free and a fundraising after-party at Nick’s English Hut (423 E. Kirkwood) will follow the awards ceremony.

For more information about the Be More Awards, visit or contact Volunteer Network Director Bet Savich at 812-349-3472 or