Skip to main content

Page last updated on September 7, 2021 at 1:41 pm

For more information, please contact

Ashley Hazelrig

City of Bloomington Commission on the Status of Women



Sue Owens

Program Specialist

Community & Family Resources Department

City of Bloomington




2020 Women’s Achievement Award Winners to be Celebrated on Women’s Equality Day

WHAT: The Bloomington Commission on the Status of Women invites the community to celebrate Women’s Equality Day on Wednesday, August 26, by honoring the 2020 Women's Achievement Award recipients at a video premiere.


WHO:  The following women will be recognized for their many accomplishments in the community: 


  • Jessika Hane, Woman of the Year

  • Dr. Tashera Perry, Woman of the Year

  • Beth Lodge-Rigal, Toby Strout Lifetime Contribution Award

  • Shatoyia Moss, Emerging Leader Award

  • Solveig Hicks, Young Woman of the Year Award


WHEN:  Wednesday, August 26, at 10:00 a.m. 


WHERE: This is a virtual event.  You may join the premiere of the 2020 Women’s Achievement Awards at the City’s Facebook page at You can also watch on YouTube at


WHY:  Women’s Equality Day, celebrated every August 26, commemorates the passage of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, granting women the right to vote.  The amendment was first introduced in 1878 and passed in 1920, making this year the centennial of women’s suffrage. In 1971, the U.S. Congress designated August 26 as Women’s Equality Day. Women’s Equality Day reminds us of women’s suffrage in the U.S. and of the hurdles overcome by the heroic women who faced violence and discrimination to propel the women’s movement forward.