Skip to main content
Feedback

Parks and Recreation is responsible for more than $50 million in City assets. Our Department manages more than 2,275 acres of property including 34 parks, a golf course, ice arena, two pools, three community centers, a fitness and recreation center, three natural resource properties, 13 ball fields, 22 tennis courts, 24 basketball courts and approximately 30 miles of trails. More than 300 sports and recreation programs are provided annually to our community through the support of the Mayor, City Council, Board of Park Commissioners and most importantly, our citizens.

The Bloomington Parks and Recreation Department is proud to be accredited by the Commission for Accreditation for Park and Recreation Agencies, or CAPRA. The Department was first accredited by CAPRA in 2001, and has been re-accredited in five-year increments in 2006, 2011, and most recently in 2016.

Mission

Our mission is to provide essential services, facilities and programs necessary for the positive development and well-being of the community through the provision of parks, greenways, trailsĀ and recreational facilities while working in cooperation with other service providers in the community in order to maximize all available resources.

Vision

We strive to provide the highest quality parks, recreation services and greenspace to enhance the quality of life for our community.

Values

  • Diversity
  • Service
  • Respect
  • Stewardship
  • Quality
  • Accountability
  • Progressive
  • Responsive

Master Plan and Annual Reports

Boards, Commissions, and Citizen Advisory Councils

Staff

Leslie Brinson

Title
Community Events Manager
Email
brinsonl@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3715

Hannah Buddin

Title
Program Specialist
Email
buddinh@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3718

Ellen Campbell

Title
Community Relations Specialist
Email
campbele@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3799

Kim Clapp

Title
Office Manager
Email
clappk@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3710

Steve Cotter

Title
Natural Resources Manager
Email
cotters@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3736

Melissa Grabowski

Title
Customer Service II
Email
grabowsm@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3700

Tiffany Hall

Title
Customer Service Rep III
Email
halti@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3702

Rebecca Higgins

Title
Recreation Services Director
Email
barrickb@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3713

Lee Huss

Title
Urban Forester
Email
hussl@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3716

Alexis James

Title
Advocate for Community Engagement
Email
jamesa@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3700

Jessica Klein

Title
Health & Wellness Coordinator
Email
kleinj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3771

Farmers Market

Title
Farmers Market
Email
farmersmarket@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3700

Paula McDevitt

Title
Administrator
Email
mcdevitp@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3711

Brenda McGlothlin

Title
Customer Service Rep II
Email
mcglothb@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3701

Sarah Owen

Title
Community Relations Coordinator
Email
owensa@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3700

Ethan Philbeck

Title
Customer Service Rep II
Email
philbece@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3757

Julie Ramey

Title
Community Relations Manager
Email
rameyj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3719

Bill Ream

Title
Program/Facility Coordinator
Email
reamw@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3748

Crystal Ritter

Title
Program/Facility Coordinator
Email
ritterc@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3725

Elizabeth Tompkins

Title
Natural Resources Coordinator
Email
tompkine@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3759

John Turnbull

Title
Sports Services Director
Email
turnbulj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3712

Marcia Veldman

Title
Program/Facility Coordinator
Email
veldmanm@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3738

Dave Williams

Title
Operations & Dev Director
Email
williamd@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3706