Skip to main content

Page last updated on January 18, 2022 at 5:19 pm

For more information, please contact

Marissa Parr-Scott, Program Specialist, Community & Family Resources or 812-349-3430


Andrew Krebbs, Communications Director, Office of the Mayor or 812-349-3406




City Women’s Commission Seeks Nominations for Annual Awards

Bloomington, Ind.–The City of Bloomington Commission on the Status of Women is seeking nominees for the 2022 Woman of the Year, Toby Strout Lifetime Contribution, Emerging Leader and Young Woman of the Year awards. Although nominations for these awards are accepted year-around, the deadline for submission of nominations for 2022 is February 11. The awards will be presented during Women’s History Month in March 2022.  


The Woman of the Year Award is presented to a woman who has improved the quality of life for other women through inspiration, community service, or professional accomplishments above and/or outside normal job responsibilities. The recipient is someone who serves as a positive role model for girls and women and has made outstanding contributions to the community. 


Named for the former director of Middle Way House and former member of the Bloomington Commission on the Status of Women, the Toby Strout Lifetime Contribution Award recognizes a woman whose work has significantly advanced the status of women through leadership and service.


The Emerging Leader Award acknowledges a woman with a relatively short (less than five years) history of significant achievements and recognizes the potential for future contributions.


The Young Woman of the Year Award recognizes a young woman between the ages of 11-18 years who has already, at a young age, impacted girls/women issues in the community. Self-nominations are encouraged in this category.


Nomination forms are available online at, in the City of Bloomington’s Community and Family Resources Department, Suite 260 or by contacting Marissa Parr-Scott at


Nominations should include the name, address, telephone number and e-mail address of the nominee in addition to the reasons why the nominee merits the award, and how their community service has benefited women. The nominator also should include his or her name, address, telephone number and e-mail address.


Send completed nomination forms by email to or by mail to: The Commission on the Status of Women, P.O. Box 100, Bloomington, IN 47402.


The 2021 award recipients were:

Penny Caudill–Woman of the Year Award

Cathleen Ingle Weber–Toby Strout Lifetime Contribution Award

Abby Ang–Emerging Leader Award