Skip to main content
Feedback

The Legal Department provides legal advice and representation to the Mayor, department heads, boards and commissions and city employees in all facets of City business. We also provide information to the public and address citizen concerns. The Department administers the following programs:

  • Municipal Prosecutor--Enforcement of the City's Municipal Code
  • Counsel--Applies legal advice and expertise to issues involving government entities
  • Documents--Drafts and reviews legal documents pertinent to City operations
  • Defense--Represents the City in administrative hearings and state and federal courts
  • Risk Management
  • Human Rights Commission
  • Fair Labor Initiative

 

NOTE:  Please submit public records requests to the City of Bloomington Legal Department, 401 N. Morton Street, Suite 220, Bloomington, Indiana 47404, or legal@bloomington.in.gov. Upon receiving this completed form, the City of Bloomington may need to review its files to determine if the requested records exist and are disclosable and will contact you soon thereafter to advise you of its determination. If your request is denied, you will be given written notice of the statutory authority for denial and the name and title or position of the person responsible for the denial.
 

 

Staff

Larry Allen

Title
Assistant City Attorney
Email
allenl@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3426

Anahit Behjou

Title
Assistant City Attorney
Email
behjoua@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3426

Philippa Guthrie

Title
Corporation Counsel
Email
guthriep@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3426

Barbara McKinney

Title
Human Rights Director/Attorney
Email
mckinneb@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3426

Jacquelyn Moore

Title
Assistant City Attorney
Email
mooreja@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3426

Mike Rouker

Title
City Attorney
Email
roukerm@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3426

Christopher Wheeler

Title
Assistant City Attorney
Email
wheelech@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3426

Heather Whitlow

Title
Legal Secretary/Paralegal
Email
whitlowh@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3426