Skip to main content

The Housing and Neighborhood Development Department enhances the quality of life for Bloomington residents by developing programs, services, and partnerships to preserve community character, promote affordable housing and encourage neighborhood vitality.

Services include historic preservation, neighborhood services, housing programs such as affordable housing, housing counseling, and home repair grants and loans. Services also include municipal code enforcement. Refer to Title 6: Health and Sanitation, and Title16: inspection of rental housing.

On any one day you may find a HAND employee rolling up their sleeves to help with a neighborhood cleanup or sitting in an office advising a prospective homeowner.

Staff

Mike Arnold

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
arnoldm@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Daniel Bixler

Title
Rental Specialist I
Email
bixlerd@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Chastina Chipman

Title
Compliance Inspector
Email
chastina.chipman@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Gloria Colom

Title
Program Manager - Historic Preservation
Email
gloria.colom@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Rob Council

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
rob.council@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Christina Finley

Title
Financial Specialist
Email
finleyc@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

John Hewett

Title
Program Manager
Email
hewettj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Kenneth Liford

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
lifordk@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Maria McCormick

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
maria.mccormick@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Brent Pierce

Title
Assistant Director
Email
brent.pierce@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Jo Stong

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
stongj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Matthew Swinney

Title
Program Manager Housing and Construction Projects
Email
swinneym@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Cody Toothman

Title
Program Manager
Email
cody.toothman@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Angela L. Van Rooy

Title
Neighborhood Services Program Manager
Email
angela.vanrooy@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Dee Wills

Title
Neighborhood Compliance Officer
Email
willsd@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

Eddie Wright

Title
Rental Specialist 2
Email
wrighte@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420

John Zody

Title
Director
Email
john.zody@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3420