Skip to main content Feedback

City of Bloomington, Indiana

About

As Bloomington continues to evolve and change as a community, the City of Bloomington Planning and Transportation Department has a very important mission: To ensure that the elements that make Bloomington special are maintained and enhanced as new development and redevelopment occurs. In order to ensure that our community retains its unique qualities, it is important to proactively plan for the impacts of this future development.

Accomplishing this task requires the Planning and Transportation Department's corps of professional staff to develop long-term plans which address important community issues such as the provision of adequate transportation infrastructure, the development of sidewalk, pathway, and trail networks, and the protection and enhancement of Bloomington's neighborhoods.

In addition to developing these long-term plans, the Planning and Transportation Department must review both permits for construction, as well as development projects requiring public hearing approval. As part of this review, the Planning and Transportation Department strives to ensure that environmental features are protected, buildings exhibit high-quality architecture, and pleasing streetscapes are created.

Most of all, our department works hard to review development projects and create long-term plans in order to protect and enhance Bloomington's great quality of life. Additional information can be found on this link:

Staff

Richard Alexander

Title
Public Improvement Manager
Email
alexandr@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Roy Aten

Title
Senior Project Manager
Email
atenro@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Daniel Backler

Title
Engineering Field Specialist
Email
backlerd@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Elizabeth Carter

Title
Administrative Assistant
Email
cartere@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Andrew Cibor

Title
Transportation & Traffic Engr
Email
cibora@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Josh Desmond

Title
Assistant Director
Email
desmondj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Sara Gomez

Title
Engineering Technician-AutoCad
Email
Gomezs@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Eric Greulich

Title
Zoning Planner
Email
greulice@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Brad Jackson

Title
Senior Zoning Compliance Planner
Email
jacksobr@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Seyedamir Kaboli Farshchi

Title
Long Range Planner
Email
farshchs@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Paul Kehrberg

Title
Planning Technician
Email
kehrberp@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Neil Kopper

Title
Project Engineer
Email
koppern@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Amelia Lewis

Title
Zoning & Long Range Planner
Email
lewisa@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Carmen Lillard

Title
Office Manager
Email
lillardc@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Pat Martin

Title
Senior Transportation Planner
Email
martipa@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Terri Porter

Title
Director
Email
porteti@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

James Roach

Title
Development Services Manager
Email
roachja@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Scott Robinson

Title
Planning Services Manager
Email
robinsos@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Beth Rosenbarger

Title
Bicycle & Pedestrian Coordinator
Email
rosenbab@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Jacqueline Scanlan

Title
Senior Zoning Planner
Email
scanlanj@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Matt Smethurst

Title
Project Manager
Email
smethurm@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Linda Thompson

Title
Senior Environmental Planner
Email
thompsol@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423

Russell White

Title
Zoning Compliance Planner
Email
whiter@bloomington.in.gov
Phone
812-349-3423